Jesse Gall

So I Had A Walden Moment…

In Creative Writing - Poetry on June 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm

I’ve never really felt personally connected to Henry David Thoreau. But now I might. Does that mean I should teach high school English now?

We went on a little drive through the entrance of the Smoky Mountains National Park right outside of Gatlinburg. I was just blown away by how untouched the place was, feeling inspired by the vastness of the mountains and the mystery of the place. I felt like I was trapped in a Shakespearean comedy for a second. I kept expecting a faun to jump out and shoot an arrow or sing a song or something.

Indulge me for this one, but I’m a writer and sometimes a man just needs to get his poem on.

I saw the world today.

Curving up swirling cups of mountainous ranges and forrest wrapped stages,

Blue vapor breaths find raise in a maze of floating hairs on limestone stairs.

A cracked tree creature rests its chest, on peg board river rocks where water never stops

It just drops, never hot, on a spot of land untouched, birthing itself with trust.

It’s life enraged, twisting and gnashing, gnarled from the lashings and the passings of time.

This place shines, without its stores or road blocks, it soars it won’t stop.

Slopes overlap like hope purple origami,  and honestly it’s beyond me:

The reach of this peace, and the setting sun peach that drips and slips

through tendril clouds and teaching skies that penetrate eyes.

I saw the world today.

Photo Cred: Me!

Until the end, the Mended Blend

Leave a Reply

