Jesse Gall

An Epic Fail Of Two Parts In The Smoky Mountains

In The Mountains on June 9, 2011 at 8:00 pm

First of all let me just say that I got to the parking lot at Sugarlands in Gatlinburg before it was full. I was there on time. Let it be noted. I. Was. Not. Late.

I was planning on blogging about how awesome my punctuality felt, but then I discovered that the only thing the iPhone can’t do is allow me to blog inside the Smoky Mountains National Park. No service. Epic Fail Part One.

And then it rained. The kind with lightning and thunder. A lot of it. Determined to see the fireflies, we waited for the rain to pass for about an hour before some shamelessly cheery 65 year-old woman told us it just wasn’t going to happen tonight. I wanted to be mad at her but she looked so sweet.

Apparently the conflicting laws of nature that dictate fire and water also apply to fireflies and rain. Fireflies don’t dig the rain. They like to chill inside and make me wait another day to see them. Dumb. Epic Fail Part Two.

It just goes to show you. Sometimes you can do everything right, cross your t’s and be on track, but despite everything your menial efforts amount to, life has another plan. Steinbeck said something about the best laid plans right? Oh how literature finds itself back in my life.

Tomorrow or Sunday, I will see those fireflies.

Until the end, the Mended Blend.

Leave a Reply

